Wichita ESPYs – Winners

Wichita ESPYs – Winners

ESPN has brought a select number of markets around the country the opportunity to award Honorary ESPYS in various categories. ESPN Wichita is proud to announce the winners for its third annual Honorary ESPY winners in various categories of the Wichita community and its surrounding areas!

Presented by:

  • Burnell’s Fine Jewelry & Design
  • INTRUST Bank
  • Schofield Honda
  • U-Build-It Wichita

High School Female Athlete of the Year (presented by UBuildIt Wichita)

Hayley Trotter, Clearwater

  • Nebraska track and field commit
  • Won second straight Class 4A cross country state championship
  • 5-time state track champion
  • 2021 & 2022 Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year (Wichita Eagle)

High School Male Athlete of the Year

Noah Holtzman, Bishop Carroll

  • Kansas golf commit
  • Back-to-back state champion in 5A golf
  • Set state tournament record going 9-under in Kansas Class 5A Tournament
  • 2023 All-Metro Team Golfer (Wichita Eagle)

High School Team of the Year (presented by Burnell’s Fine Jewelry & Design)

Valley Center softball

  • Won second-straight Class 5A state championship

High School Coach of the Year (presented by Scholfield Honda)

Corey Jones, Valley Center softball

  • Led Valley Center to back-to-back 5A state softball titles

NCAA Division I Female Athlete of the Year

Sydney McKinney, Wichita State University

  • Helped lead Wichita State to 44-12 season, including AAC softball championship
  • Holds WSU single-season record for batting average (.522), hits (103), and runs (76)
  • Holds WSU career record for batting average, hits, at-bats, on-base percentage, runs scored, and total bases
  • Named a Consensus First-Team All-American
  • #1 overall pick in the 2023 Athletes Unlimited College Softball Draft

NCAA Division I Male Athlete of the Year

Jalen Wilson, University of Kansas

  • Helped lead Kansas to Big 12 regular season basketball championship and #1-seed in NCAA Basketball Tournament
  • Averaged 20.1 points, 8.3 rebounds, and 2.2 assists for the Jayhawks
  • Consensus First-Team All-American
  • Wooden Award Finalist
  • Drafted by the Brooklyn Nets with the 51st pick in the 2023 NBA Draft

Small College Female Athlete of the Year

Aspen Goetz, Hutchinson CC

  • Helped lead Hutch CC to 29-3 KJCCC record and Jayhawk Conference championship
  • Totaled 20 home runs, 98 runs batted in, and 61 runs scored
  • Named to NJCAA All-American Third Team

Small College Male Athlete of the Year

Cevin Clark, Southwestern College

  • Led Builders to 26-7 record and KCAC Men’s Basketball Tournament Championship
  • Averaged 24.5 points, 2.5 rebounds, and 1.5 assists for Southwestern
  • Named to First-Team All-KCAC and First-Team All-American