Petro’s All-Big 12 Teams

By Soren Petro, Sports Radio 810


PETRO’S 2016-17 AP All-Big 12 TEAMS


FIRST TEAM (Must have one point guard and one post player):

1)  Frank Mason, Kansas

2)  Monte Morris, Iowa St.

3)  Jawun Evans, Oklahoma St.

4)  Josh Jackson, Kansas

5)  Johnathan Motley, Baylor


SECOND TEAM (Must have one point guard and one post player):

1)  Jevon Carter, West Virginia

2)  Deonte Burton, Iowa St.

3)  Landon Lucas, Kansas

4)  Jo Lual-Acuil Jr.

5)  Jarrett Allen, Texas


THIRD TEAM (AP only has a first and second team):

1)  Devonte’ Graham

2)  Naz Mitrou-Long

3)  Jeffrey Carroll

4)  Wesley Iwundu

5)  D.J. Johnson


   COACH OF THE YEAR:  Bill Self, Kansas


   PLAYER OF THE YEAR:  Frank Mason, Kansas



(Freshman or player in first season w/Big 12 team):  Josh Jackson, Kansas



The first team was pretty easy to put together.  The three point guards led teams at the top of the standings.  Motley is worthy of being player of the year and Jackson did what ever KU needed him to do to win almost every game.


The second team was much more difficult.  Jevon Carter of WVU was the easiest choice.  Buton was another one that I landed on quickly.  He handled guarding opponents big men while still making big contributions on offense.


I gave strong consideration to putting D.J. Johnson on the second team, but in the end KSU’s inability to close games cost him the spot on this team.  Jarrett Allen got the nod because of  his rebounding, shot blocking and shooting percentage.  His performance certainly warranted a spot on this team, even if the performance of the Longhorns as a team doesn’t.  In the end I don’t think the Horns brutal season was his fault.


Landon Lucas does not have huge stats, but did finish second in the league in rebounding.  He provided KU’s only post presence and played excellent interior defense.  The shot blocking and rebounding of Baylor’s Jo Lual-Acuil Jr. anchored the  league’s best defense.